The future of GTM starts here. Sept. 30, 2026 Register to join us

Use Team Sync Authentication with the Salesforce Integration

Article author
Updated

Overview

Team sync authentication determines which Apollo user's Salesforce connection Apollo uses to sync data between Salesforce and your team's Apollo account.

For new Salesforce connections using the Apollo managed package, the team sync user is the Apollo admin who connected Salesforce using the dedicated integration user.

 
Team Sync vs. Personal Login

Team sync authentication applies across your Apollo account and powers standard Salesforce data sync for your team. Individual Apollo users don't need to connect their personal Salesforce accounts for standard Salesforce syncing.

Individual users can still connect their personal Salesforce accounts to access private or shared Salesforce views in Apollo. If your team uses Salesforce Created By as an ownership signal, users can also connect their personal Salesforce accounts and your admin can map Apollo's created_by field to Salesforce CreatedById. This allows supported new Salesforce records to reflect the Apollo user who originally created the record, even when another user later syncs it to Salesforce.

Check out the following sections to learn how team sync authentication works with Salesforce.

Back to Top

Use Team Sync

For new Salesforce connections, you don't need to separately configure team sync authentication after connecting Salesforce. When you first set up the integration and install the Apollo managed package, you create or select a dedicated Salesforce integration user. The Apollo admin completing setup connects Salesforce using that integration user's credentials and becomes the team sync user for the new connection. Apollo then uses that Apollo user's Salesforce connection for account-wide syncing.

With the managed package, the integration user will have read and write access to all Salesforce objects and fields included in your Apollo sync. Apollo strongly recommends keeping the default permissions assigned during managed package setup to help prevent sync errors.

 
Keep the Connection Running

Don't deactivate or delete the Salesforce integration user. Apollo relies on this user for account-wide Salesforce sync, and removing its access can stop Salesforce data from syncing with Apollo.

Back to Top

Manage Team Sync

Admins can change the team sync user when another Apollo user has already connected Salesforce with the permissions required for syncing the integration.

To manage team sync authentication:

  1. Launch Apollo and click Settings > Integrations > Salesforce.
  2. Click Authentication.
  3. Select the Apollo user whose Salesforce connection Apollo should use for team sync.
  4. Click Save.
 
Existing Salesforce Connections

If your team connected Salesforce before the Apollo managed package was introduced, your existing connection continues to use its current team sync credentials. You don't need to install the managed package or reconnect Salesforce as part of this release.

Back to Top

Next Steps

Use these resources to configure and manage how Salesforce data syncs with Apollo.

Integrate Salesforce with Apollo For a new connection, integrate Salesforce with Apollo using a dedicated integration user. The Apollo admin who completes the connection becomes the team sync user.
Configure Salesforce Pull Settings Control which Salesforce records Apollo syncs by configuring Salesforce pull settings.
Configure Salesforce Push Settings Control which Apollo records and activities are written to Salesforce by configuring Salesforce push settings.
Map Default Apollo Fields to Salesforce Use Salesforce field mappings to control how Apollo data corresponds to Salesforce fields.
Use the Salesforce Integration Error Log If Salesforce records fail to sync, use the Salesforce integration error log to identify and resolve the issue.

Back to Top