Create Permission Profiles

Article author
Eric Zrinsky
  • Updated

Overview

Many different types of users on your team may use Apollo. Every user may need to undertake different responsibilities in the platform and for that reason, it is important to utilize the principle of least privilege. Apollo offers very granular permission levels that you can save as Permission Profiles and apply to individual users in your account.

 
Default Permission Set

Please note, Apollo uses "Admin" as the default permission profile in the platform. You cannot modify most of the "Admin" permission profile settings.

Back to Top

Create a New Permission Profile

Launch Apollo and then click Settings.

Settings

Click Permission Profiles.

Permission Profiles

Click + New Profile.

New Profile

Give the Permission Profile a name and then click Create.

Create

The Permission Profile screen provides you with settings divided into several different sections: "Name," "Administration," "Sequence & Emails," "Lead Gen," "Accounts & Contacts," and "Territories," "Opportunities," and "Playbooks."

Profile Name

Profile Name

Update and change the name of the permission profile from this section. Often this reflects the job title of the user who you will assign this permission profile.

Administration

Administration

The "Administration" section allows you to restrict access to various parts of the platform and includes the following settings:

  • Can add, edit and delete users
  • Can invite users to join subject to admin approval
  • Can access and manage billing; receives billing related emails
  • Can manage permission profiles
  • Can add or edit contact stages and account stages
  • Can add or edit call dispositions / purposes
  • Can edit integrations-related settings
  • Can add or edit definitions of custom fields
  • Can add or edit email schedules
  • Can modify team level Context and Persona settings
  • Can edit rules engine
  • Can edit scoring models
  • Can assign views as default
  • Can edit or delete all cockpits, including private cockpits

Sequence & Emails

Sequence & Emails

The "Sequences & Emails" section allows you to limit which emails a user can see, which mailboxes they can send emails from, who they can send emails to, and a user's general access to sequences and templates. It includes the following settings:

  • Email visibility
    • Can see all emails from other users
    • Can see outbound emails sent within the Apollo platform and replies to those emails, but not other emails
    • Can see only their own emails
  • Can send emails from
    • Self only
    • Other users from the same teams
    • All users
  • Can send emails to contacts
    • No restrictions
    • Only contacts owned by the user
  • Can send emails to accounts
    • No restrictions
    • Only accounts owned by the user
  • User can adjust their own email sending limits
  • User can disable opt-out message (appended to emails in sequences). If unchecked, this will enforce the opt-out message on all users under this profile.
  • Can add sequences
  • Can view private sequences
  • Can edit sequences
    • Own sequences
    • Shared sequences on the same team
    • All non-private sequences
    • All sequences, including private and read-only sequences
  • Can manage sequence rulesets
  • Can complete, skip, or modify tasks owned by other users
  • Can add email templates
  • Can edit templates owned by
    • Self only
    • Other users on the same teams
    • All users
 
Keep It on the Q.T.

Please note, Apollo recommends that you use the Can see all emails from other users checkbox in the Email visibility section with caution. If you select this option, all Apollo users within your organization have access to view every other user's email activity. This includes all the emails that Apollo imports from each user's connected mailbox, whether a user sends them through Apollo or not. If you have a large team and are concerned about email confidentiality, Apollo recommends that you select the following checkbox instead: Can see outbound emails sent within the Apollo platform and replies to those emails, but not other emails. This means that users will only see the emails sent and replied to through Apollo. They will not see any other emails from your users' connected mailboxes. And voila—you've kept your team's email privacy safe and sound!

Lead Gen

Lead Gen

The "Lead Gen" section provides controls for restricting if and where a user can spend credits to purchase new leads and includes the following settings:

  • Can access the credit usage page and check how much credit other users used
  • Can access the prospect searcher and add new leads to contacts

Accounts & Contacts

Accounts & Contacts

The "Accounts & Contacts" section allows you to control if a user can delete or change the ownership of contacts in the account. It includes the following settings:

  • Can delete accounts/contacts owned by
    • Disable
    • Owned by himself/herself
    • Owned by him/herself, nobody, or inactive users
    • All users
  • Can change ownership for accounts/contacts owned by
    • Disable
    • Owned by himself/herself
    • Owned by him/herself, nobody, or inactive users
    • All users
  • Can assign owner for accounts/contacts to
    • Any active user
    • Only him/herself
  • Cam bulk import Contacts/Accounts via CSV
  • Can export Contacts/Accounts as CSV

Territories

Territories

The "Territories" section allows you to set up distinct areas where your teammates can contact and prospect users, often divvied up geographically and includes the following settings:

  • Can add or edit Territories & Territory Rules
  • Can prospect outside of assigned territories

Opportunities

Opportunities

The "Opportunities" section allows you to toggle the visibility of any opportunity data in Apollo and includes the following setting:

  • Can access & view Opportunities data

Playbooks

Playbooks

The "Playbooks" section allows you to control access to playbooks, including creation, rulesets, and editing settings. It includes the following settings:

  • Can create playbooks
  • Can view private playbooks
  • Can manage playbook rulesets
  • Can edit playbooks
    • Own playbooks
    • Shared playbooks on the same teams
    • All non-private playbooks
    • All playbooks, including private playbooks

When you are finished modifying the settings for the permission profile, click Save Changes.

Save Changes

The permission set for your permission profile is now saved and ready to use.

Back to Top


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request